Skip to content

Is Ulster the same as Northern Ireland?

No. All of Ulster’s nine counties do not make up Northern Ireland.

The six counties of Northern Ireland are Antrim, Armagh, Derry, Down, Fermanagh, and Tyrone.

The three other Ulster counties (Cavan, Donegal, and Monaghan) are part of the Republic of Ireland

Ulster is one of the four traditional provinces of Ireland, derived from “Ulaidh,” a tribal group that once lived in this part of Ireland.

Five of Northern Ireland’s counties encircle the freshwater Lough Neagh, “Eachaigh’s lake,” meaning the lough of the horse god Eochu of the underworld. The lake is the biggest in the British Isles, is owned by the Earl of Shaftesbury, and is famous for its eels.

The six counties of Northern Ireland, UK

Northern Ireland’s sixth county, Fermanagh, contains the Upper and Lower Loughs Erne, actually widened sections of the River Erne. These freshwater lakes are known for their many islands, limestone caves, various water sports, and fishing for pike, bream, trout, and salmon.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *